My Favorite Addiction Ever!

I’m an addict. I’ll admit it.

I’m addicted to reading challenges. I’m joining another one. I know, it’s crazy. But I justify it because the English class I’m enrolled in this semester is not a literature class. I’m not reading any novels, poetry or drama. So, I’m joining three reading challenges.

This particular challenge is called the Chunkster Challenge 2008. The rules are as follows:

To qualify the book must be 450 pps regular type OR 750 pps large text.

You must read FOUR chunksters (one each quarter), you OBVIOUSLY may read more

The Challenge will run Jan 7th, 2008 – Dec 20th, 2008

Sharing reviews mandatory, format still to be determined.

I decided to join because (1) It is only four more books than I’m already reading for the other challenges, (2) I can cross-list with other challenges, and (3) another blogger inspired me when she said that she was reading Les Miserables. Apparently, the book has 365 chapters. I did not know that. So, we are reading a chapter a day. I’ve always wanted to read Les Mis. I guess this is my motivator!

Here is my list for the challenge:

The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky, weighing in at 578 pages
The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide, weighing in at 815 pages (One volume containing several novels counts as one chunkster book.)
Bleak House by Charles Dickens, weighing in at 1,063 pages
Les Miserables by Victor Hugo, weighing in at 1,463 pages

Well, I’d love to blog some more, but it looks like I need to get started reading!

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Addiction Ever!

  1. Emily says:

    I read Les Mis in high school. You’ll have to let me know what you think. The English major in me wanted to edit it down to about 600 pages 🙂

  2. Jana Swartwood says:

    Bravo, you! I, too, have read Les Mis, and while it is wonderful in many ways (and it really is!), I should warn you that you’ll have about 100 pages of the Battle of Waterloo wherein you will wish you had never been born.Or maybe it’s not that extreme…but it IS long.

  3. Jana Swartwood says:

    OH, and when you finish, ask me who my favorite character is and why. It differs from my favorite character in the musical Les Mis, though both of my choices are different from the characters most people would choose.

  4. Sarah says:

    Wow! Nicole, it sounds like you are going to be very busy!! But, I hope you enjoy all of them. I just finished Sense and Sensibility and have started Pride and Prejudice. These are both books that I have wanted to read, but just never had. My book club meets next Friday for Pride and Prejudice, so I have to get on the ball to have it finished!

Leave a Reply

