I Need My Darcy Fix

For some reason, I am really needing a Darcy fix today. I blame The Lizzie Bennett Diaries. If you haven’t heard of them, prepare to fall in love.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries is a modern adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. Every week, on Mondays and Thursdays, a new 3-6 minute YouTube video is posted chronicling the life and adventures of “Lizzie Bennet”. I discovered it last year near its beginning, interestingly enough, while I was also taking an Austen course, and have been watching ever since. If you aren’t surprised at how much I love it, you should be. As many of you know, I am very particular when it comes to my Austen adaptations. I am particular because so many of them are so TERRIBLE. Like that one that I wanted so much to be good, Scents and Sensibility, because it had Ashley Williams, and I like her. Or that awful, not even worth mentioning LDS adaptation of P&P I watched with great excitement. So, you can understand why I would be wary of anything claiming to be a modern-day adaptation of P&P.

There is nothing worth worrying about with this beautiful adaptation. It is wonderful. The story is told from the perspective of dear Lizzie (mostly), with input from Charlotte, Jane, Lydia, and of course Darcy. There have also been a few spinoffs: The Lydia Bennet, Maria Lu, Collins and Collins, and the latest, Pemberley Digital (links to come).

The story is told chronologically, and slowly at a couple of short videos a week, which drives me insane, but keeps me coming back for more. The most surprising thing, and what keeps me watching, is how faithful they have been to the plot of the novel despite the modern, techy nature of the series.

So today, when I should have been working, I was thinking about how much I wanted to go home and watch these videos, and every other P&P/Austen Novel adaptation I own.

I just need a Darcy fix. I don’t know why I find this story so completely amazing. Maybe it is because of the “against all odds” romances, or the silent, hopeful men. Maybe it is just because Jane Austen was an amazing writer and no matter how you spin her works, you can’t walk away without falling in love with these timeless classics.

So tonight, when I get home, I will struggle to focus on boring Moby Dick, probably procrastinating it, so that I can watch some Austen and get my fix.

Leave a Reply

